Tags

, , ,

Forgive me today, Merciful Creator.

On a day when outrage unleashes itself as violence in the streets so that it stirs my core to

Just

Want

Tranquility,

Forgive my temptation to pray for peace,

the kind of peace that allows me to remain in my own, narrow, safe place.

Instead, I beg for you to strike me with keen sight.

Cut through my blindness caused by comfortable privilege,

Crush the lenses I wear to filter out my neighbors’ needs,

Remove the scales in my eyes that prevent me from seeing the hurt and distrust and injustice that so many must wade through,

Knee-deep,

Every

Day.

Shake my prideful identity of ‘Christian’, and force my focus on the ways of Christ,

Who defied the powerful,

Who disturbed the calm,

Who confronted apathy,

Who challenges all to observe oppression,

call it by name,

and confront the oppressor…

Who

Llives

In

Me.

Oh Holy One whose word constantly admonishes us to be not afraid,

Give clear sight to all of us this day,

To truly see our neighbors,

And courage to use our hands and feet and mouths

to act from the example of Jesus,

Daring to go forth in this broken world,

not in fear,

But with His compassion.

So be it, Amen.

